Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Drew Luckett Memorial Scholarship Fundraiser In Centerville, TN

On Saturday, August 21, 2010, the Drew Luckett Memorial Scholarship fundraiser will be held at the Skyview Country Club in Centerville, TN. The entry fee is $200 per team in the 4-person golf scramble. The tournament begins at 8:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Shotgun Start. Lunch will be served 11:30 until 1:00 and is only $5.00

$5,000 cash will be given for the 1st hole-in-one and there will be prizes for the longest drive contest and closest to the pin contest. Free demos by Ping, Mizuno, and Callaway Golf are available.

For more information or to reserve your spot contact Tim Luckett (931)209-6944, Buzz Maddox (931) 729-4548 or the Skyview Country Club (931) 729-2444. All proceeds go to the Drew Luckett Memorial Golf Scholarship fund which benefits the Hickman County High School.

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Fair On The Square In Centerville, Tennessee 2010

The Grinder's Switch Music And Arts Festival on the Centerville, TN square begins at 9:00 a.m. and musicians will be playing to around midnight on September 11, 2010. This is the 18th annual festival that has been held and promises to be a fun day for everyone. Admission is free. Opening ceremonies begin at 10:00 with a live broadcast of Grinder's Switch Hour on KIX 96 radio station to follow.

Several local bands will perform including the Grinder's Switch Skillet Lickers, Brothers in Christ, Double Down, Bobby Marquez, Raw Country and the Grinder's Switch Ensemble. Photos from the Grand Ole Opry will be displayed by photographer Jimmy Moore.

Plenty of food - from barbecue to hamburgers will be available.

Come on out to Centerville and Hickman County and enjoy the fun.

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Hickman County Fair

The Hickman County Fair has been scheduled for August 25-28, 2010 at the Hickman County Agricultural Pavilion and Fairgrounds in Centerville, TN. The Ag Pavilion is in Grinders Switch - a small area in Centerville that was made famous by Minnie Pearl in her comedy routines. I'm not sure of the activities but I will post them as soon as I hear about them.

Come one, come all and ride the rides and eat the funnel cakes and cotton candy (my favorite) and have a good time.

Friday, August 6, 2010

Finally! Election Results In Hickman County

It's Over! After what seemed like months and months of campaign signs, radio ads, TV ads, door knocking and mail, the local election is finally over for another year and a half until it starts over again. There were a few local surprises in the Hickman County Commission races, but otherwise not much has changed.

Steve Gregory, the incumbent County Mayor, defeated four other candidates with 42% of the vote. Randal Ward, the incumbent Sheriff is still the sheriff this morning having outlasted four other candidates. And the new Road Superintendent is Ronald Coates, who has worked for the Hickman County Highway Department for over 30 years.

The vacant position of County Court Clerk goes to newcomer Casey Dorton in what some have called the East vs West Contest, and East won. There were six candidates including Dorton vying for that position. It seems as though the West vote was divided and East voted as a block.

The Circuit Court Clerk position(Dana Nicholson) and the Register of Deeds position (Patty Sisk) keep the incumbents, both winning handily. Cheryl Chessor was unopposed as Trustee. There will be a few new faces on the Hickman County Commission when they meet in September. The list of all the winners follow.

District 1 Blackwell, Chilton and Leeper
District 2 Collins, Haynes and Gammons
District 3 Thomasson, Booker and Mangrum
District 4 Nash, George and Deal
District 5 Ward, Jordon and Capps
District 6 Puckett, Hassell and Sullivan
District 7 Bates, Atkinson and Murray

The Highway Department members will be as follows.

District 1 Rudd
District 2 Sullivan
District 3 Potts
District 4 No Candidate
District 5 Mathis
District 6 Creech
District 7 Cook

Each district also elected Constables, although most of them were incumbents and unopposed. They are:

District 1 Bowman
District 2 Warden
District 3 Harness
District 4 Deal
District 5 Long
District 6 Lancaster
District 7 Qualls

I guess that wraps it up until the next election. Thanks to Steve Turner of KIX 96 radio station in Centerville, Tennessee for broadcasting the results. I remember that it used to take several hours for most of the results to be known, however, with the technology of today, votes are counted rather quickly.

These results will not be certified until Monday. FINALLY!